Alpacas and their food

Alpacas like their evening meal.  I feed Llama and Alpaca Maintenance in the evening; they each have their own food dish wired on to the fencing in the barn with enough space in between each other so they will not be so hoggish.  The girls seem to do okay.  No one is gulping their food down and then pushing someone else off theirs so they can then have the others dinner too.

The boys, on the other hand, are real pigs.  Riptide is the one who is such a hog.  Stryker does not chow down fast enough and Rip is over at Stryker’s bowl making him squeal his high pitched little yell while Rip gulps down Stryker’s food too.  Sometimes Stryker will stand up for himself and spit some to make Rip move.  But usually he just yells and Rip gets his food.  On days I have felt sorry for Stryker, I have moved Rip out of the barn with my “flag” (a great tool: a soccer field corner flag: sturdy, orange and long. I use 2 for herding) and then Stryker can finish his meal in peace.

Stryker

Stryker

I don’t  see any real way of feeding them differently.  Rip appears he may have had issues as he was growing up in getting enough food and has this habit of gulping his food then  eating  anyone else’s as quickly as he can, even if the other goes hungry.  He doesn’t mess with Nino the guard llama who is taller and spits if Rip even looks at his bowl.  Rip doesn’t mess with Nino.   

Riptide on left and Nino the guard llama

Riptide on left and Nino the guard llama

It’s just the normal pecking order, but sometimes you wish the bully would just get put in his place and the low man could move up a notch in the order.

2 Comments

  1. Jeremy said,

    April 3, 2009 at 8:16 PM

    I have silkies and alpacas too. Except we have 51 alpacas.

    • April 5, 2009 at 1:17 AM

      Jeremy, I just love the Silkies; they have so much personality and are so gentle. I have my hands full with just my 6 alpacas and 2 llamas, and of course 27 chickens, but I can’t imagine ever having so many alpacas. But I would like some more some day.


Leave a Reply

