Where is that camera?

checking out the pasture greenery

checking out the pasture greenery

 

If only I had my camera, and if only I knew how to take a video on it.  I will research that today. But yesterday, I wish I had it and known how. 

 Little Summer Surprise, our June-born  female cria,  was most comical.  She has decided to be independent of mom at times and at this moment she also wanted to stretch her spindly legs.  So, as soon as she and mom entered the pasture off she went, practically flying around the pasture, running lickety-split and almost laying on her side as she rounded the corners.  I could just see those little legs sliding out from under her and imagine her in a crumpled heap.  But no, she did not.  There was one turn she made that put her on course for the chicken coop and once again I envisioned a loud SPLAT!, but no, she did not.  If only I had my camera! 

As all parents say about their kids, if you have little baby animals of any kind, try to keep that camera handy and know how to operate all the features. I love my digital camera but it takes a second too long to take the shot and the animals have already moved by then.   Like I said, I am going to learn today how to take a video on mine.  Then I can really have some fun with it.  My little chicks will be so much fun to video; I can’t wait!

2 Comments

  1. August 1, 2009 at 7:14 PM

    Take it from someone who has tried to video a running cria, and it can be pretty challenging to follow them while keeping the camera steady and focused! But even the bad home movies make good memories later.

    • August 3, 2009 at 9:20 AM

      I know you are right about that, Rebecca. It is hilarious to see Summer chewing on a bit of hay. That I know I could video easily (takes her forever to work it around in her mouth and chew it all), and my little chicks scurrying around too. Aren’t they just the cutest?


Leave a Reply

