Alpacas and Texas 4-H

I got an e-mail today about getting 4-H groups involved with alpacas as a project.  We would love to see that happen in our area.  Has anyone had experience with alpacas in 4-H and is it a possibly successful idea?  I have not ever been involved with 4-H so I don’t know what all the ins and outs of the organization is.  I will try to read up and find out more, but right now we would like to get our animals more into the public eye. 

http://texas4-h.tamu.edu/

Since alpacas are  naturally shy animals they are hard for people to understand why they don’t  act all warm and cuddly  like their family dog.  I don’t think cows or sheep act like that either, but because alpacas have such a cute presence and appearance,  people expect them to act differently.

The ultimate goal of the U.S. alpaca organizations is get the fleece going as a major product (like cotton, and wool) and get enough animals on the ground to produce the quantity of fleece needed by major manufacturers.  I hear differing answers to that so I cannot say for sure what an ideal number of animals is for fleece production.

Hopefully, we can get something organized in northeast Texas to get the word out.  I have contacted a ranch near me and we may be able to get some ideas for getting this off the ground.

Leave a Reply

