Snow in Texas

Texas weather and news

It is December I realize, but for us in Texas we sometimes may not see snow at all during the winter season.   This week, we have been blasted by cold rain, wind, and freezing temps and snow.  Yesterday the windshield was splatted with wet large snowflakes.  Some of the Dallas Metroplex had a covering of white.  A Winter Weather Advisory is out for all day tomorrow, and south of Dallas to Austin, and possibly as far as Houston, are predicted to get snow.

The alpacas love the cool weather, and if it is not windy they will cush out in the pastures at night enjoying the cold and calm weather.  Otherwise, you can find them in the barn lounging.

The chickens don’t mind the cold.  They are birds after all with feathers that can keep themselves warm in the coop.  I keep plenty of wood shavings on the floor and it is a self composting litter that I understand generates some warmth in the natural composting of manure and shavings if the birds decide to snuggle down into it.   I have not understood the necessity of heating a chicken coop, but maybe in the colder northern states it is necessary.

And in order to keep myself warm while outside tending the animals (which I really love when it is not windy or wet), I slip on a pair of my ski bibs and a warm parka and gloves.  The ski bibs are absolutely my best winter wear.  They are weatherproof and so insulating, as well as durable, and they have elastic at the ankles which you can tuck into your boots or they will grip and stay snug on the outside of the boots.  I have seen them for sale in thrift stores for bargain prices.  Do give them a try and you will enjoy going out and maybe stay a little longer and even enjoy those winter chores.

2 Comments

  1. zenasurialpacas said,

    December 4, 2009 at 9:35 AM

    And here I was thinking about getting rid of the ski bibs since we no longer ski and there are no mountains in Oklahoma. Thanks for the tip.

    • December 4, 2009 at 11:39 PM

      Growing up in Kansas, I got tired of the freezing cold and the wind. But now when it’s cold here, ski bibs to the rescue when I work outside. And my ski socks I also use, the sock liner under the ski sock. My parka is a warm ski parka with a hood. Now if I can only find some really good flexible insulating gloves …….


Leave a Reply

